Momen no Handkerchief

Pretty much ALL J-Pop songs go in and out my brain with mostly the melody to sustain it.  The more engaging the hook, the better it’ll stick.

Because of this I always considered Momen no Handkerchief the best J-Pop (or Kayoukyoku) song of my 1970s youth.  Couldn’t think of anything more unique.

I also assumed the lyrics focused on girly platitudes or something. Well a great website called Natsumelo just blew my assumptions to kingdom come.

Check out the lyric page along with an TV performance (with a few of the middle verses truncated): http://www.natsumelo.com/2011/09/hiromi-ota-momen-no-handkerchief-1975/

Is there a more heartbreaking narrative in such a poppy song?  I can’t think of one at the moment, being as it’s becoming rather dusty in the room right now…

About Saburo

愛の戦士 Karaoke is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment