Shawshank

The Shawshank Redemption (1994)

Tim Robbins, Morgan Freeman
Dir. Frank Darabont

I’ve been wanting to watch this one for quite some time and finally caught an extended period of time this weekend. 

What a marvelous piece of acting and dialogue.  Of creating mood and atmosphere, in varying points in time (it’s almost an American history lesson).  People before have referenced this movie and its characters the same way we quote Star Wars, Bogart and Don Corleone.  I now understand their inspiration.

Shawshank

I always assumed there was something mystical about this movie with the cumbersome title and spiritual image of Tim Robbins, being cleansed in the rain.  I thought the story and characters would be way more magical because the source material was Stephen King.  I am so very glad that it wasn’t the case.

With an infinite bytes of digital power at every filmmaker’s disposal, it appears harder than ever to portray the simple power of humanity with words and thought.  I had to look up the year that this movie was released.  My inital guess was way the hell off, which I guess says something about what sells these days.  Gads, I feel old.

But good rises up somehow: good quality anyway.

*** 1/2 (out of 4).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

